A Yoga Sequence for Your Heart Chakra

Yoga Sequence Heart Chakra

Here is a yoga sequence for your heart chakra. This is the fourth post in a series of yoga sequences for the chakras.

The heart chakra, Anahata, meaning ‘unhurt’, ‘unstuck’ and ‘unbeaten’ symbolises awareness and manifestation of love towards oneself and others, affection, compassion, acceptance, gratitude and kindness. It is about the heart of our feelings. The heart chakra is about giving and receiving love.

Associated with the spiritual heart centre, as we tune into the pulse of life and expand it through the conscious cultivation of prana, life force or breath. Anahata chakra is our inner temple in which Atma, our soul (True Self) resides.

With better balance in the lower chakras, it becomes easier to balance emotional connection through love. We slowly become more open to higher spiritual consciousness as it naturally manifest through compassion, gratitude, joy, love, self-love and cosmic love.

The heart chakra, Anahata is the fourth chakra and is located in the middle of the chest, at the heart level.

The corresponding endocrine gland is the thymus.

It’s element is air.

Its colour is green and its mantra is YAM.

Yoga sequence for heart chakra

The ruler of this chakra is Hanuman, Lord Rama’s most loving devotee.

The animal totem is the deer or black antilope, a very sensitive animal. As these animals run swiftly and change direction easily, loving emotions fluctuate through the heart chakra.


Unbalanced Heart chakra

An unbalanced Anahata can result in:

  • emotional pain
  • lack of compassion
  • indecisiveness
  • over dependency in relationships
  • feeling disconnected from yourself
  • fear of rejection and abandonment
  • negative self-talk
  • low self-esteem and harsh self-criticism


Balanced Heart chakra

A balanced Anahata can result in:

  • seeing the positive in yourself and others
  • feeling kind and compassionate
  • optimism, hope, motivation
  • cooperative, sharing
  • feeling loved and loving
  • feeling happy within yourself


Affirmations to balance this chakra could be

  • I love and accept myself fully
  • I am grateful
  • I am loved and loving
  • I feel compassion and empathy for all beings
  • I forgive myself and others
  • I let go of resentment and grudges
  • I love


Mudra for Anahata chakra

heart chakra mudra

Hridaya Mudra:

Mudra for opening your heart chakra

Curl your index finger towards the base of the thumb.  Bring your middle and ring fingers together with the tip of the thumb.

To learn more about mudras and how you can use them for healing, read the post on Mudras for Healing and Transformation.


Essential oils to balance the Heart chakra

Lavender, Angelica, Neroli, Rose to balance emotions around Anahata.

Eucalyptus, Peppermint, Rosemary to soothe the circulatory system, and open the heart and lungs when feeling tightness in the chest.


A Meditation for your Heart chakra

Sit in a comfortable cross-legged position with your spine straight, or lie down in Savasana, Corpse Pose.

Take a few deep breaths in and out through the nose to center yourself and to start calming the mind.

Bring your awareness to the present moment and to the rising and falling of your breath in the abdominal region.

Bring your left hand on your heart then the right hand on top of the left. Feel your heart beat. Start to connect with it deeper. As you breathe in, feel your chest expand forward, then to the sides, and then in the back of the chest.

When you feel calmer and more centered, imagine a ball of pure love in your heart. Visualise and feel it grow with each inhale. Feel this unconditional love and deep peace flowing through your heart center and reaching every part of your body.

With each inhale, welcome and invite more love, kindness, compassion and gratitude into your heart space. With each exhale, allow old emotions that no longer serve you to leave your physical and emotional body.

Stay connected to the feeling of pure love, bathe in it, let it surround you warmly and peacefully. Remain with this sensation and allow it to ‘recharge’ your heart for as long as you enjoy it.

heart chakra meditation


Journaling prompts to support Anahata

  • Do I think I am worthy of love?
  • Am I open to receiving love?
  • Is there balance between my giving and receiving of love?
  • What is preventing me from welcoming love in my life?
  • Do I spend enough time on what I love doing? If not, what is holding me back from doing more of what I love?
  • What does ‘compassion’ mean to me? When do I experience compassion for others? How do I express it? When do I experience from others? How is it expressed and what does it feel like? What stops me and what helps me in being a compassionate person?
  • My heart is…
  • I am grateful for ….
  • Write a letter about yourself to yourself. Mention all the things you love about yourself, all the things you’ve overcome in your life and all the things/events/people/feelings you are grateful for.


Music forthe Heart Chakra



A Yoga Sequence for your heart chakra

The aim of this yoga sequence is to cultivate the heart-centered quality of awareness of our being through back bends and chest opening poses.

Before doing this sequence, make sure to do a few Cat Cow pose to warm up your spine and do a few rounds of Sun Salutations to generate heat throughout your whole body.

Spend some time in the Low Lunge (1st posture of the sequence) in order to really stretch the quadriceps and hip flexors. You can add an extra stretch in that pose by lifting the shin of the back leg off the floor and pull the lower leg towards your buttocks.

The key to back bending is to have length in your hip flexors!

And if Chakrasana, Wheel pose is not accessible to you yet, do a few rounds of Bridge pose, Setu Bandhasana instead.

Yoga Sequence for Your Heart Chakra (Click to access pdf)

What are your favourite heart-opening asanas ? How did you feel after this sequence? What came up for you?

Share your thoughts and sensations in the comments. I love hearing from you!


Catch up on the previous sequences 

#1 Yoga to balance your root chakra

#2 Yoga to balance your sacral chakra

#3 Yoga to balance your solar plexus chakra


Next chakras

Yoga for self expression: the throat chakra

Yoga to open your third eye chakra

Yoga for a higher state of consciousness: the crown chakra



Please consult with your physician before beginning any exercise program. By participating in this exercise or exercise program, you agree that you do so at your own risk, are voluntarily participating in these activities, assume all risk of injury to yourself, and agree to release and discharge The Box of Happiness from any and all claims or causes of action, known or unknown, arising out of The Box of Happiness’ negligence.



Sign up to the newsletter to receive my free 5-min meditation to increase your self-awareness and create a deeper sense of inner peace.


Find me here: Nadege Laure- Journey Within www.nadegelaure.com and let’s practise Yoga together online!

All classes are offered on a pay-as-you-can basis, Melbourne AEST time. Information and booking: Click here www.nadegelaure.com/yoga 



Do you want to reduce stress and anxiety, be more present, reconnect with yourself and become more mindful in your daily life?

In my 30-page eBook The Mindful Week Journal, you will find daily mindfulness activities that you can easily incorporate in your routine. They will help you increase your self-awareness and create a deeper sense of inner peace.

You will be guided to reflect on your experience with journaling prompts and inspiring quotes.

Get yours by clicking here.

The Mindful Week Journal eBook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Terms, Conditions & Privacy